Year 2015

Experiments with Ultracold Fermi gases: Quantum Degeneracy of Potassium-40 and All-solid-state Laser Sources for Lithium

Norman Kretzschmar (LKB)

This thesis presents novel techniques for the experimental study of ultracold quantum gases of fermionic lithium and potassium atoms. In the first part of this thesis, we describe the design and characterization of the new components of our (...) | ↦ Read more

Numerical modelling of solar and stellar dynamos

Raphaël Raynaud (LRA)

Dynamo action, i.e. the self-amplification of a magnetic field by the flow of an electrically conducting fluid, is considered to be the main mechanism for the generation of the magnetic fields of stars and planets. Intensive and systematic (...) | ↦ Read more

Two studies on conformal and strongly coupled quantum field theories in d > 2 dimensions

Matthijs Hogervorst (LPT)

| ↦ Read more

Using optical fibre cavities to create multi-atom entanglement by quantum Zeno dynamics

Leander Hohmann (LKB)

We show how an optical microcavity setup can create multiparticle entanglement in an ensemble of neutral atoms by means of quantum Zeno dynamics (QZD). Our setup combines an atom chip with a fibre Fabry-Perot (FFP) resonator and allows us to (...) | ↦ Read more

Coherent manipulation of an ytterbium Bose-Einstein condensate on the "clock" transition : from spectroscopy to artificial magnetism

Alexandre Dareau (LKB)

In this thesis, we report on the construction of an experiment aimed at trapping and cooling an ytterbium gaz, in order to realize artificial magnetic fields. In the long term, this setup will allow the study of strongly correlated quantum (...) | ↦ Read more

Fiber interfaces between single atoms and single photons

Sébastien Garcia (LKB)

The experimental study of entangled quantum states of single particle ensembles requires development of compact, robust and versatile systems. Motivated by miniaturization, stability et flexibility provided by optical fibers as light (...) | ↦ Read more

Numerical study of fractional topological insulators

Cécile Repellin (LPA)

| ↦ Read more

Methods for statistical inference on correlated data: application to genomic data

Eleonora De Leonardis (LPS)

The availability of huge amounts of data has changed the role of physics with respect to other disciplines. Within this dissertation I will explore the innovations introduced in molecular biology thanks to statistical physics approaches. (...) | ↦ Read more

Cell assemblies in neuronal recordings: Identification and study through the inference of functional network models and statistical physics techniques

Gaia Tavoni (LPT)

My thesis illustrates a research on cell assemblies, groups of closely connected, synchronously activating neurons, which are thought to be the units of memory, and on the techniques of statistical physics and inference for the study of (...) | ↦ Read more

Indistinguishability of the photons emitted by a semiconductor quantum dot under cw resonant excitation

Raphaël Proux (LPA)

| ↦ Read more

Schrödinger Cat States of a Rydberg Atom for Quantum Metrology

Adrien Facon (LKB)

There is no fundamental limit to the precision of a classical measurement. The position of a meter’s needle can be determined with an arbitrarily small uncertainty. In the quantum realm, quantum fluctuations due to the Heisenberg principle limit (...) | ↦ Read more

Engineering doping profiles in graphene: from Dirac fermion optics to high frequency electronics

Quentin Wilmart (LPA)

The two dimensional nature and chirality of the graphene charge carriers have brought exciting opportunities for a new kind of electronics. We are now able to realize devices exploiting the Dirac nature of graphene electrons. They rely on (...) | ↦ Read more

Modeling Complex Systems by Thermostatted Kinetic Theory Methods

Carlo Bianca (LPS)

This dissertation is concerned with the review of my research activity starting from the PhD at the Politecnico of Turin to my research activity at ENS of Paris. The research activity has been mainly concerned with the development and (...) | ↦ Read more

Terahertz dynamics of carbon nanotubes

Matthieu Baillergeau (LPA)

| ↦ Read more

Measurement backaction and feedback on a superconducting qubit

Philippe Campagne-Ibarcq (LPA)

Abstract In quantum physics, a measurement corresponds to the interaction of a system with an observer, who is part of the environment. In general, this measurement disturbs the system state in a an effect known as the quantum backaction. This (...) | ↦ Read more

Année 2015

Experiments with Ultracold Fermi gases : Quantum Degeneracy of Potassium-40 and All-solid-state Laser Sources for Lithium

Norman Kretzschmar (LKB)

Cette thèse présente de nouvelles techniques pour l’étude expérimentale des gaz quantique ultrafroids d’atomes fermioniques de lithium et de potassium. Dans la première partie de cette thèse, nous décrivons la conception et la caractérisation des (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Modélisation numérique du magnétisme solaire et stellaire

Raphaël Raynaud (LRA)

Cette thèse traite de la génération d’un champ magnétique par l’écoulement d’un fluide conducteur de l’électricité, connu sous le nom d’effet dynamo. De nombreuses études numériques ont ainsi cherché à comprendre la génération du champ magnétique (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Deux essais sur les théories quantiques des champs conformes et fortement couplées en d > 2 dimensions

Matthijs Hogervorst (LPT)

| ↦ Lire la suite

Création d’états intriqués à N atomes par dynamique Zénon quantique dans une cavité optique fibrée

Leander Hohmann (LKB)

Nous démontrons la création d’états intriqués dans un ensemble d’atomes neutres fondée sur la dynamique Zénon quantique (QZD), à l’aide d’un microrésonateur optique. Notre dispositif expérimental combine une puce à atomes avec une cavité Fabry-Perot fibrée (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Manipulation cohérente d’un condensat de Bose-Einstein d’ytterbium sur la transition "d’horloge" : de la spectroscopie au magnétisme artificiel

Alexandre Dareau (LKB)

Dans cette thèse, nous faisons état de la construction d’un dispositif expérimental capable de piéger et refroidir un gaz d’ytterbium, dans l’optique de simuler des champs magnétiques artificiels. Ce dispositif permettra, à terme, de produire et de (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Interfaces fibrées entre atomes uniques et photons uniques

Sébastien Garcia (LKB)

Dans le cadre de l’étude expérimentale des états quantiques intriqués de particules uniques, il est nécessaire de développer des systèmes compacts, robustes et polyvalents. Motivés par la miniaturisation, la stabilité et la flexibilité apportées par les (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Étude numérique d’isolants topologiques fractionnaires

Cécile Repellin (LPA)

| ↦ Lire la suite

Modèles d’évolution de protéines en environnement variable

Mathieu Hemery (LPS)

L’Évolution darwinienne est une lutte pour la survie des individus les plus adaptés. Le terme "adaptés" implique la présence d’un environnement auquel il s’agit d’être adapté. Ce dernier est cependant susceptible de changer ce qui pose la question de (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Une approche physique-statistique à différents problèmes dans la théorie des réseaux

Alberto Guggiola (LPT)

La physique statistique, développée à l’origine pour décrire les systèmes thermodynamiques, a joué pendant les dernières décennies un rôle central dans la modélisation d’un ensemble incroyablement vaste et hétérogène de différents phénomènes qui ont (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

A statistical physics approach to different problems in network theory

Alberto Guggiola (LPT)

Statistical physics, originally developed to describe thermodynamic systems, has been playing for the last decades a central role in modelling an incredibly large and heterogeneous set of different phenomena taking for instance place on (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Méthodes pour l’inférence un grande dimension avec des données correlées : application à des données génomiques

Eleonora De Leonardis (LPS)

La disponibilité de quantités énormes de données a changé le rôle de la physique par rapport aux autres disciplines. Dans cette thèse, je vais explorer les innovations introduites dans la biologie moléculaire grâce à des approches de physique (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Assemblages de cellules dans enregistrements neuronaux : Identification et étude par l’inférence de modèles de réseaux fonctionnels et techniques de physique statistique

Gaia Tavoni (LPT)

Ma thèse illustre une recherche sur les assemblages de cellules, groupes de neurones étroitement liés et co-activés, considérés comme les unités de la memoire, et sur les techniques de physique statistique et d’inférence pour l’étude de neurones (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Indiscernabilité des photons émis par une boîte quantique semiconductrice sous excitation résonnante continue

Raphaël Proux (LPA)

| ↦ Lire la suite

Chats de Schrödinger d’un atome de Rydberg pour la métrologie quantique

Adrien Facon (LKB)

Il n’y a pas de limite fondamentale à une mesure classique : la position d’une aiguille sur un cadran peut être déterminée avec une incertitude arbitrairement faible. Au contraire, dans le monde quantique, la précision de toute mesure est limitée par (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Ingénierie du profil de dopage dans le graphene : de l’optique des fermions de Dirac à l’électronique haute fréquence Quentin Wilmart

Quentin Wilmart (LPA)

La nature bidimensionnelle et la chiralité des porteurs de charge du graphène ont ouvert des opportunités passionnantes pour la réalisation d’un nouveau type d’électronique. Nous sommes maintenant en mesure de réaliser des dispositifs qui exploitent la (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Modeling Complex Systems by Thermostatted Kinetic Theory Methods

Carlo Bianca (LPS)

Cette thèse porte sur mon activité de recherche, depuis le doctorat effectué à l’Ecole Polytechnique de Turin jusqu’à aujourd’hui, au laboratoire de Physique Statistique de l’ENS de Paris. Mon domaine de recherche a porté principalement sur le (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Dynamique Terahertz des nanotubes des carbone

Matthieu Baillergeau (LPA)

| ↦ Lire la suite

Action en retour de la mesure et rétroaction sur un qubit supraconducteur

Philippe Campagne-Ibarcq (LPA)

Résumé En physique quantique, une mesure correspond à l’interaction d’un système avec un observateur, qui fait partie de l’environnement. En général, cette mesure perturbe l’état du système, un effet connu sous le nom d’action en retour. Cette (...) | ↦ Lire la suite