Curriculum Vitae of Kay Jörg Wiese

Kay Wiese
* Education and Positions
Universität Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany
     September 1987 - January 1993
     Diplom in Physik, sehr gut (very good)
     Thesis: 3-loop Zeta-function for a supersymmetric non-linear sigma-model
     Advisor: Franz Wegner
Service de Physique Théorique, C.E. de Saclay, France
     September 1993 - Sepstember 1996
     PhD Physics, très honorable (summa cum laude), September 1996
     Thesis: Statistical Mechanics of Self-avoiding Membranes
     Advisor: François David
Universität Essen, Essen, Germany
     October 1996 - December 2000
     Privat-Dozent (lecturer), since December 1999
     Habilitation 1999
     Thesis: Polymerized Membranes
Institute for Theoretical Physics, UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA, USA
     January 2001 - September 2003
     Visiting scientist (Heisenberg grant)
Laboratoire de Physique Théorique, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France
     October 2003 - December 2004
     Invited scientist (Heisenberg grant)
Universität Köln, Germany
     April 2004 - July 2004
     Professor (C4), per procurationem of Professor Zirnbauer.
Laboratoire de Physique Théorique, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France
     January 2005 - September 2010: Chargé de Recherche CR1 au CNRS (junior permanent research position)
     since September 2010: Directeur de Recherche DR2 au CNRS (senior permanent research position)
* Organisation of Conferences, Workshops, etc.
Séminaire commun de la Fédération LPT-ENS (2004-2013)
Dynamics and Relaxation in Complex Quantum and Classical Systems and Nanostructures
     MPI-PKS Dresden, Germany, Jul. 24, 2006 - Oct. 6, 2006
Stochastic Geometry and Field Theory: From Growth Phenomena to Disordered Systems
     KITP, Santa Barbara, CA, USA, Aug. 7, 2006 - Dec. 15, 2006
Avalanches, Intermittency, and Nonlinear Response in Far-From-Equilibrium Solids
     KITP, Santa Barbara, CA, USA, Sep. 22, 2014 - Dec. 12, 2014
* Postdocs (with current occupation)
Raoul Santachiara (2008-2010), Chargé de Recherche au CNRS, LPTMS, Orsay, France
Andrei A. Fedorenko (2008-2010), Chargé de Recherche au CNRS, ENS Lyon, France
Aleksandra Petkovic (2010-2012), Maitre de Conférence, LPT Toulouse, France
Zoran Ristivojevic (2010-2012), Chargé de Recherche au CNRS, LPT Toulouse, France
* PhD Students (with current occupation)
Henryk Pinnow (1998-2002), Founder and CEO of Likron (Munich, Germany)
Christian Hagendorf (2006-2009), permanent research position, Université catholique de Louvain, Holland
Alexander Dobrinevski (2010-2013), d-fine [thesis]
Mathieu Delorme (2012-2016), agrégé à Lyon [thesis]
Thimothée Thierry (2013-2016), Postdoc at Institute for Theoretical Physics in Leuven, Holland [thesis]
* Internships (Stagiaires)
Florian Kühnel (2006)
Christian Hagendorf (2006)
Alexander Dobrinevski (2010)
Mathieu Delorme (2012)
Thimothée Thierry (2013)
Zumou Lin (2013)
Federica Gerace (2014)
Duan Zhihao (2014)
Carlo Ferrari (2016)
Assaf Shapira (2016)
Hadi Haghighi (2017)
Zhaoxuan Zhu (2017)
* Scientific Collaborations (publications only, current locations)
Costas Bachas, LPT-ENS, Paris, France
Leon Balents, UCSB, Santa Barbara CA
Ralf Bundschuh, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA
Pascal Chauve, Ministère de la Défense, France
François David, IPhT, CEA Saclay
Alexander Dorbrinevski, Germany
Andrei A. Fedorenko, ENS Lyon, France
Ramin Golestanian, Oxford University, UK
Francisco Guinea, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid
Christian Hagendorf, Université catholique de Louvain, Holland
Jesper L. Jacobsen, LPTENS, Paris, France
Stefan Kehrein, Universität Göttingen, Germany
Werner Krauth, LPS, ENS, Paris, France
Mehran Kardar, MIT, Boston, MA , USA
Michael Lässig, Uni Köln, Germany
Pierre Le Doussal, LPT, ENS, Paris
Andreas Ludwig, UCSB, Santa Barbara CA
Satya N. Majumdar, LPTMS Orsay, France
Cristina Marchetti, Syracuse University, Syracuse, USA
Alan Middleton, Syracuse University, Syracuse, USA
Sébastian Moulinet, LPS-ENS, Paris, France
Markus Müller, ICTP, Trieste, Italy
Christian Münkel, SAP, Heidelberg, Germany
Claudia Peca
Aleksandra Petkovic, LPT, Toulouse, France
Anthony Perret, LPTMS Orsay, France
Marco Picco, LPTHE, Paris, France
Henryk Pinnow, Germany
Sanjay Puri, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India
Tridib Sadhu, Tata Institute of Fundamental Reserach, Mumbai, India
Gregory Schehr, LPTMS, Orsay, France
Elie Raphael, ESPCI, Paris, France
Zoran Ristivojevic, LPT Toulouse, France
Etienne Rolley, LPS-ENS, Paris, France
Alberto Rosso, LPTMS, Orsay, France
Mykola Shpot, Institute for Condensed Matter Physics, Lviv, Ukraine
Raoul Santachiara, LPTMS, Orsay, France
Jean Vannimenus, LPS-ENS, Paris, France
* Lectures
Exercise group on theoretical mechanics (twice)
Exercise group on quantum mechanics
Exercise group on Statistical Mechanics for teachers
Quantum Phase Transitions
     Announcement, Notes
Conformal field theory
     Announcement, Notes
Disordered systems
     Announcement, Notes
Principles of non-local field theories and their application to polymerized membranes
     Announcement, Notes
Selected Topics in Statistical Field Theory (lectures in the theory master program at ENS, Paris)
* Prizes, Awards, and other Exams
Physik-Preis der Göttinger Akademie der Wissenschaften 2000; Pressestimmen [1] [all laureates]
Heisenberg-Stipendium, 2000
Member of the German team at the 17th International Physics Olympics, London, July 1986
Vordiplom in Physics: sehr gut (very good), Universität Heidelberg, June 1989
Vordiplom in Mathematics: sehr gut (very good), Universität Heidelberg, June 1989
Abitur: sehr gut (1,0)
Member of the "Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes" (German National Scholarship Foundation) 1986-1993
Sonderpreis des Minister-Präsidenten des Landes Baden-Würtemberg, 1986
2nd prize, "Jugend forscht" (German National competition for Sciences), February 1988
several prizes and awards in the "Bundeswettbewerb Mathematik" (German National Mathematics Competition)

Copyright (C) by Kay Wiese. Last edited June 25, 2014.