Coevolution in proteins and RNA,

theory and experiments



Carg¸se, Corsica, April 17th-23rd, 2016



Organizing committee : S. Cocco (Ecole Normale Supˇrieure), R. Monasson (Ecole Normale Supˇrieure), M. Weigt (Universitˇ Pierre et Marie Curie)


Scientific committee : W. Bialek (Princeton University), E. Domany (Weizmann Institute), S. Leibler (The Rockefeller University), M. Nilges (Institut Pasteur)



deadline for application : February 29th, 2016



In the course of evolution RNA and protein sequences undergo mutations. The statistics of those mutations and of their correlations reflects the structural and functional constraints exerted on the biomolecules. A fundamental challenge is to extract and exploit this information from rapidly growing sequence databases. The goal of the workshop is to gather scientists involved in the study of coevolution in biomolecules (proteins and RNA), from the points of view of sequence analysis, structural prediction, and evolutionary dynamics. Those fields are at the crossroads of molecular, structural, and evolutionary biology, biochemistry, statistical inference, statistical physics, bioinformatics. This workshop will be a unique opportunity for experts in those different communities, for theoreticians as well as for experimentalists, to meet, to present their fields of research and recent results, and to foster fruitful exchanges.


The workshop will combine long invited talks by internationally recognized experts, as well as shorter talks by younger researchers. The list of invited people include:


Erik Aurell (KTH Stockholm, Sweden),

John Barton (MIT, Cambridge, USA),

Arup Chakraborty (MIT, Cambridge, USA),

Lucy Colwell (University of Cambridge, UK),

Sean Eddy (Janelia Research Campus, USA),

Arne Elofsson (Stockholm University, Sweden),

Rapha‘l Guerois (CEA Saclay, France),

Doeke Hekstra (U. SouthWestern Texas, Dallas, USA),

David Jones (University College London, UK),

Paolo de Los Rios (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland),

Faruck Morcos (University of Texas at Dallas, USA),

Clˇment Nizak (ESPCI, Paris, France),

Andrea Pagnani (Politecnico Torino, Italy),

Rama Ranganathan (U. SouthWestern Texas, Dallas, USA),

Elena Rivas (Janelia Research Campus, Ashburn, USA),

Olivier Rivoire (Univ. J. Fourier, Grenoble, France),

Eugene Shakhnovich (Harvard University, Cambridge, USA),

Alexander Schug (KIT, Karlsruhe, Germany),

Joanna Sulkowska (University of Warsaw, Poland),

Hendrik Szurmant (The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, USA),

Olivier Tenaillon (Universitˇ Paris Diderot, Paris, France),

Michele Vendruscolo (Cambridge University, UK),

Aleksandra Walczak (Ecole Normale Supˇrieure, Paris, France),

Tandy Warnow (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA),

Eric Westhof (Universitˇ Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France)


In addition we will have a limited number of contributed talks as well as a poster session, so that each participant will be offered the possibility to present his/her work. In total we expect to have about 60 participants (maximal number due to space constraints). The registration fees amount to 350 euros and include the housing (shared room) for the whole week, all breakfasts and lunches, and the attendance to the social dinner.


The workshop is funded by the Agence Nationale de la Recherche project Coevstat and the CNRS GDRI evolution, regulation, signalling.






Practical information


Slides of presentations