Common Services

Facts and Figures:

Facts and Figures:

The department is a research federation (FR684) headed by the ENS and the CNRS. It provides technical platforms to the laboratories (workshop, cryogenic fluids, clean room facility, network, and logistics) and administrative support.

The life of the department is carried by those present daily in the
laboratories, classrooms, common services and the new library of experimental sciences. Composed of 450 people in total (44 owned and operated by the Federation) including 120 researchers / lecturers,the Department of Physics is the largest structure of research and teaching at the ENS.

In 2011, the department won recognition as an Excellence laboratory (“Laboratoire d’excellence”) for its research and teaching strategy.

The greatest resources of the department are the people present on a day basis in its labs, classrooms, common services and library.

Administration

| ↦ Read more

Administrative staff

Administrative staff The administrative staff at the department is responsible for the organization of the education program (undergraduate-third year- and graduate level), the administrative follow-up of the Research federation, general (...) | ↦ Read more

Cryogenic plateform

The ENS physics department cryogenic platform has a double mission of supply of cryogenic fluids, and of expertise in cryogenics (cryostat design, probe heads design, cryogenic fluid delivery system). The platform supplies approximately (...) | ↦ Read more

Computer support

Computer support, servers and network at the department are to a large extent mutualized. Department staff maintains, supervises and services on the order of 1000 machines, from computers for administration to high-performance computing (...) | ↦ Read more

Logistics and Building Maintenance

The service is responsible for construction works and installations related to experiments (experimental setups, plumbing, metal works) and general maintenance (construction, plumbing). It furthermore runs a material and electronics shop and (...) | ↦ Read more

Electricity

Maintenance of the entire electrical system of the department. Supplies: PC blocks (extension), pods, various plugs, bulbs, wires, etc. Team leader: Jean-Marc Jusseau Bureau : S18 ground floor Tél : 01 44 32 33 00 Franck Bouchereau, Philippe (...) | ↦ Read more

Services techniques

Pôle Technique Direction : Jean-Michel Isac Bureau : L059f Tel : Tél : 33 (0)1 44 32 33 66 Contacter JM Isac La direction des services techniques du département est assurée par Jean-Michel Isac. Pour connaître le nom des équipes de chaque (...) | ↦ Read more

Workshop and Design office

Staff from the design office and the workshop provides technical assistance to design and built custom instrumentation. Pieces are realised in close coordination with the research groups to meet faculty needs. Considerable technical expertise (...) | ↦ Read more

Facts and Figures:

The department is a research federation (FR684) headed by the ENS and the CNRS. It provides technical platforms to the laboratories (workshop, cryogenic fluids, clean room facility, network, and logistics) and administrative support.

The life of the department is carried by those present daily in the
laboratories, classrooms, common services and the new library of experimental sciences. Composed of 450 people in total (44 owned and operated by the Federation) including 120 researchers / lecturers,the Department of Physics is the largest structure of research and teaching at the ENS.

In 2011, the department won recognition as an Excellence laboratory (“Laboratoire d’excellence”) for its research and teaching strategy.

Services communs

Faits et chiffres :

Faits et chiffres :

Le département est une fédération de recherche reconnue par le CNRS (FR684), qui fournit un certain nombre de moyens techniques aux laboratoires (atelier de mécanique, liquéfacteur d’hélium, salle blanche, réseau informatique, logistique, magasins) et un support administratif.

La vie du département est assurée par les personnes présentes au quotidien dans les laboratoires, salles de classe, services communs et la toute nouvelle bibliothèque des Sciences expérimentales. Composé de 450 personnes au total (44 appartiennent en propre à la fédération)
dont 120 chercheurs/enseignants-chercheurs, le département de Physique est la plus grande structure de recherche et d’enseignement de l’ENS.

En 2011, dans le cadre des investissements d’avenir, le département a été labellisé ‘laboratoire d’excellence’ pour la qualité de sa recherche et de son enseignement (Investissements d’avenir- Appel à projets Labex).

La gestion des infrastructures du département est une mission clé de la fédération de recherche.

Les services communs contribue largement à la vitalité du département tant en matière de recherche que d’enseignement.

Administration

Le service administratif est responsable de l’organisation des programmes de formation (licence-dernière année, master, doctorat, agrégation), du suivi administratif et financier du département, de la logistique générale et de l’interaction avec les (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

L’atelier et le bureau d’études

L’atelier et le bureau d’études assurent un soutien technique et logistique pour la conception et la réalisation d’instruments de précision. Les pièces sont fabriquées en étroite collaboration avec les laboratoires afin de satisfaire les demandes des (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Service des Fluides et Cryogénie

La plate-forme de cryogénie du département de physique de l’ENS a une double mission d’approvisionnement en fluides cryogéniques et d’expertise en matière de cryogénie (conseils auprès des utilisateurs, commandes de sondes, de dewars, de fluides). (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Le service informatique

L’assistance aux utilisateurs, les serveurs et le réseau du département sont dans une large mesure mutualisées. L’équipe d’informaticiens maintient, supervise et entretient plus de 1000 machines qui regroupent les ordinateurs pour l’administration, (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Logistique et maintenance du bâtiment

Le service est responsable des travaux de construction et des installations liées aux expériences (plomberie, métallurgie), de l’entretien et de la préparation de nouveaux laboratoires d’expérimentation, et de façon générale de l’entretien et de la (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Le service électrique

Dépannage, Entretien et Travaux de toute l’installation électrique du département. Fourniture : blocs PC (rallonge), barettes de jonction (domino), cosses, fiches diverses, ampoules, fils, câbles ... Responsable : Jean-Marc Jusseau Bureau : S18 (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Faits et chiffres :

Le département est une fédération de recherche reconnue par le CNRS (FR684), qui fournit un certain nombre de moyens techniques aux laboratoires (atelier de mécanique, liquéfacteur d’hélium, salle blanche, réseau informatique, logistique, magasins) et un support administratif.

La vie du département est assurée par les personnes présentes au quotidien dans les laboratoires, salles de classe, services communs et la toute nouvelle bibliothèque des Sciences expérimentales. Composé de 450 personnes au total (44 appartiennent en propre à la fédération)
dont 120 chercheurs/enseignants-chercheurs, le département de Physique est la plus grande structure de recherche et d’enseignement de l’ENS.

En 2011, dans le cadre des investissements d’avenir, le département a été labellisé ‘laboratoire d’excellence’ pour la qualité de sa recherche et de son enseignement (Investissements d’avenir- Appel à projets Labex).