Research laboratories

The Kastler Brossel Laboratory

Director → Antoine Heidmann

The Kastler Brossel Laboratory (LKB) is a Mixed Unit of Research depending on the Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS), the National Center for Scientific research (CNRS), the University Pierre & Marie Curie (UPMC) and the Collège de France. LKB (...) | ↦ Read more

Laboratory Pierre Aigrain

Director → Jérôme Tignon

The Laboratory Pierre Aigrain (LPA – UMR 8551) is a leading physics institute in the field of condensed matter. The main research domains are related to the optical (from the terahertz to the ultraviolet) and electrical properties (from DC to (...) | ↦ Read more

Laboratory of Statistical Physics

Director → Jorge Kurchan

Statistical Physics constitutes a set of ideas and methods at the heart of physics, whose scope is the understanding of the properties of physical systems with many interacting components. By its nature it has has frontiers and common grounds (...) | ↦ Read more

Laboratory of Theoretical Physics

Director → Constantin Bachas

The LPTENS encompasses approximately forty five researchers working on various areas of theoretical physics. We on the one hand study the quantization of gravity, mainly in the context of string theory, problems in high energy physics (in (...) | ↦ Read more

The Radio Astronomy Laboratory

Director → Maryvonne Gerin

The LRA is part of the LERMA (UMR 8112 du CNRS), department of l’Observatoire de Paris. The research activities at LRA are theoretical and about observations.. They are strongly linked to the physics of interstellar medium and of star formation. (...) | ↦ Read more

Les laboratoires de recherche

Le Laboratoire Kastler Brossel

Directeur → Antoine Heidmann

Le LKB est un des acteurs majeurs de la physique fondamentale des systèmes quantiques dans le monde, couvrant de nombreux sujets de recherche depuis les tests fondamentaux de la théorie quantique jusqu’à ses applications. Soixante ans après sa (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Le Laboratoire Pierre Aigrain

Directeur → Jérôme Tignon

Le laboratoire Pierre Aigrain (LPA-UMR8551) est un des acteurs majeurs en physique de la matière condensée. Les domaines de recherche principaux concernent les propriétés optiques (du terahertz à l’ultra-violet) de nanostructures semi-conductrices et (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Le Laboratoire de physique statistique

Directeur → Jorge Kurchan

Physique statistique hors équilibre, théorie de la matière condensée, mouillage et nucléation, biophysique, physique non linéaire, morphogenèse et phénomènes multi-échelles. Directeur : Eric Perez (à compter du 1/1/14 : Jorge Kurchan) Effectifs : 17 (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Le laboratoire de physique théorique

Directeur → Constantin Bachas

Son activité principale est la recherche en physique théorique. Nous cherchons d’une part à résoudre le problème fondamental de la quantification de la gravité en relation principalement avec la théorie des cordes, nous étudions également des problèmes (...) | ↦ Lire la suite

Le laboratoire de Radioastronomie

Direction → Michel Pérault

Les activités de recherche du LRA sont théoriques et observationnelles, et portent sur la physique du milieu interstellaire, la formation des étoiles, et les mécanismes à l’origine des champs magnétiques aux échelles galactiques, stellaires et (...) | ↦ Lire la suite