Jean-Loup Puget was awarded the Gruber Cosmology Prize

The 2018 Gruber Cosmology Prize was given to the Planck Team and two of its members: Jean-Loup Puget (ENS Laboratory of Radioastronomy) and Nazzareno Mandolesi (INAF, Bologna), respectively leaders of the high frequency and low frequency instrument consortia.

The Planck Team, part of an international collaboration organized by the European Space Agency, mapped the temperature and polarization of the cosmic microwave background radiation with the ESA Planck spacecraft.

The spacecraft Planck measured, with unprecedented precision, the matter content and geometry of the universe, the imprint on the CMB of hot gas in galaxy clusters and of gravitational lensing by large-scale structure. It also constrained a hypothetical `inflationary’ phase, pinned down when the first stars formed,and provided unique information about interstellar dust and magnetic fields in our Galaxy.